Early Years

Areas of Learning

Areas of Learning

Prime Areas of Learning

The Statutory Framework for the Early Year's Foundation Stage (2017) states that the Prime areas of learning are ‘particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive’. The Prime areas of learning are considered time-sensitive which means that practitioners working with the youngest children will focus on these areas more strongly. It is also important to ensure that practitioners identify any areas where a child’s progress is slower, through careful observation and assessment, so that children and families can access appropriate and timely support.

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas of Learning

Children will strengthen and apply their skills in prime areas through specific areas of learning.



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

Was this page helpful?

Very poor
Neither good nor poor
Very good